And so it begins…..

Lately I have been doing a lot of cooking and baking…and when I say a lot I mean A LOT!!! I am talking, everyday, for (almost) every meal and baking in between. What’s the big deal, some might ask. Well, I used to love cooking and baking, but with the advent of four children and different jobs, weird schedules and school (yes, school, I am a full time student and so is the hubby); I kind of…fell out of the habit? and when I did cook it was boring and I hated it. I used to bake all of our bread, plus all kinds of sweets, make full meals, the works! And then, I lost the love. I felt unappreciated (you moms know what I mean) and I was just B.O.R.E.D.! I was so tired of cooking the same things over and over.

Well, all of that changed when I decided to try a scone recipe I found. I didn’t stick strictly to the recipe ( I never do 😉 ) The recipe was for a stawberry lemon scone…well, while that sounded pretty good, I wanted to add a little something to it, to give it that WOW factor, you know? So I added….white chocolate chips! OMG!! The flavors in that scone were divine! The look on peoples faces when they try them were suprise and then pleasure when they hit that slightly melted white chocolate…pure bliss! Here is what they look like:

Delicious!

(Click here for the Recipe)

Since these I have made several other flavors. These include: Blueberry, peach/cinnamon chip, apple/cinnamon chip ( I had to use up the chips:) ) and the most recent flavor was ginger/pear. All of them came out tender and moist enough to hold together and SO flavorful! These are not your coffee-house scones, my friends! These are decadent and sweet and absolutely addicting, to eat as well as to make. It is so quick and easy to whip up a batch and have for breakfast. My hubby and I have been eating them for breakfast with our coffee every morning. Of course, my kids love them as well, so I have been making fresh ones almost every day. This has not been a bother at all, as these scones have helped me get back my desire to cook and bake again. I am more inspired now than I have been in a very long time, and it is FANTASTIC!!! I no longer see a good recipe, think “Hey, that looks good” and forget about it. Now, I print it out, or save it to my tablet and go look in the kitchen to see if I have everything for it. If I do, guess what? It’s probably what’s for dinner, lunch, or snack! If I don’t, the items I am missing are sure to go on that weeks grocery list so that I can.

Cooking and baking is fun again! I will be blogging about my adventures in cooking, baking, sewing and DIYing (is that a word?). It is sure to be fun and interesting so stay tuned…..

Leave a Reply

