Good Morning, Sunshine!

It is a beautiful Sunday morning. Usually we go to church but this morning came too soon, after a sleepless night with Goldilocks…Anyway, when we finally did get up, I decided a hearty brunch would be a good way to get going. I brewed coffee for the hubby and I and proceded do prepare myself and the kitchen (wash up last night few dishes) for cooking.

Last night, my best friend, Heather, and I decided we were going to make Ghee (ghee/gē/Noun: Clarified butter made from the milk of a buffalo or cow, used in Indian cooking).

buttery, nutty, omg absolutely amazing!

It is very simple to make, tastes delicious and smells even better! My house smelled like a freshly baked croissant :). Heather has been obsessed with a blog, mynewroots.blogspot.com, which the blogger puts up these delectable looking, good for you treats! So, ever the adventurers, we have decided to start trying her recipes, of course starting with sweet treats and such. Ghee is one of her favorite ingrediants, however, so we decided it would be a good idea to make some.

Now that I have my Ghee, I decided it would be a good idea to test it out in a few different ways: baking, cooking and sauteing. I had already figured out what I was going to be making for breakfast, I just had to decided how and where to use my delicious Ghee. First I whipped up some whole-wheat biscuits. Very simple to make, and I just replaced the 1/4 cup of butter with the same amount of Ghee. Those came out tender and flaky, just the way I like my biscuits! While I was doing this, I set some chopped up red-skinned new potatoes to boil for about 10 minutes. After I slid the biscuits in the oven, the potatoes 10 minutes were up  so I dumped them in a seive and transfered them to a hot skillet in which I melted some of my Ghee. I then added some salt, pepper and thyme, stirred and covered them and let them sizzle, giving them a quick stir every few minutes. Put potatoes on low once they are fall-apart tender.

Boiling the potatoes before putting them in the skillet is to give them a head-start on cooking, otherwise they will take forever to cook thouroughly, and no one wants to eat a partially cooked potato, do they?

While the potatoes were going, I started browning the sausage to make my sausage gravy. I have made it many times with butter, but today is all about Ghee. While the sausage was browning I sarted making the gravy. First I measure out about 1/2 cup of flour in a measuring cup and mix in my spices (usually salt, pepper and sage, to taste) and set it aside. Next I scooped out about 1/4 cup of Ghee and dropped it into a heated pot to melt. Once melted, I whisk in the flour/spice mixture until all of the flour is mixed in and it looks crumbly. Next, I add in about 2 cups of milk (you can add more if it needs to be thinned out later) and whisk until it starts to thicken and gets bubbly. Once the gravy thickens, add in the sausage, leaving as much grease in the pan as possible. Allow to simmer for a couple of minutes, and you are done! Here is the finished product all plated:

filling and yummy!

Definately a good brunch in my house as it leaves even the most ravenous of tummies full till almost dinner time. I will be adding actual recipes soon if you followers are interested….Let me know! Leave a comment :)For the next handcrafted masterpiece, Stay tuned …..
Leave a Reply

