My crazy life…

So, I have been a busy mommy the last week! It has been crazy! I have been cooking and baking and creating up a storm :). This past Saturday I had a birthday party to go to (My friend Courtney’s little one, his first birthday!!) and My friend Robin’s baby shower on Sunday. Well, let me just say that this was a week of no money…you know those right? The ones where you have just enough money to pay all the bills, and pay for the Groceries, but that is it? This was one of those weeks. It didn’t matter, really. My pantry was full and the bills are paid, so all is well :). There isn’t a need for anything else.

Anyway, So I now have these two functions to attend, no money for gifts and not really sure what I was going to do! Then I had an epiphany. I could make the gifts :). Now, it was deciding what to make. Robin is having a baby Girl, so that was easy, I could make her a dress. I have made lots of things for Goldilocks, so I had fabric and the know how, and even a cute pattern. I printed the pattern out (it was one I had saved on the computer) and started rummaging around for just the right fabric. I found what I wanted and, since Goldilocks was napping which is the best time to do this kind of project, I began cutting. I had to stop when Goldilocks woke up, but finished it up when she went down for her afternoon nap. Here is the finished product :

When she pulled it out of the bag, I could see that she truly loved it! She didn’t know I made it. She had already gotten several other outfits, but this one took the cake for her apparently. Her exact comment was ” I think I just found my going home outfit!” I cannot tell you how gratifying that was to me. I was so worried that she wouldn’t like it….Well, she put all my fears to rest. Her sister spoke up and asked me where I bought it (here was where the truth was going to come out), and I told her I had made it. The exclamations from the ladies in the room were nearly deafening! None of them, except Courtney (who was also there) and Robin even knew me and therefore knew that I am crafty ;), so everyone was genuinely surprised that it was my creation. I was just glad that Robin liked it 🙂

As for Courtney’s baby’s gift, that was a little bit more difficult, as far as coming up with something good. I had a plain white onesie that I considered doctoring up and giving to him, you know, by appliqueing something cute onto it. I changed my mind when I saw a really great pin on Pinterest for homemade play dough. This is not the kind from when we were kids, that was crumbly, dry, didn’t last very long and had to be refrigerated. This play dough comes out beautiful, smooth and feels like store-bought. I used gel food coloring to get nice rich color. here is the link to the recipe : http://www.kristanlynn.com/2011/09/best-play-dough-recipe.html. She uses food coloring in the mix when she is heating it, but I kneaded the color in after it was cooked ( because I wanted 4 different colors). I guess it really doesn’t matter when you do it, just remember to knead the color in well if you are going to do it my way. Otherwise you end up with little pockets of dense color that will stain your hands.

The really nice thing about this play dough is that it stays pliable for up to 6 months. As long as you take care of it (i.e. put it away once playtime is done) and keep it in a cool dark place (not the refrigerator, more like a pantry of cabinet) it won’t dry out. It is great for small children as it is non-toxic. It is made out of “edible” ingredients, although it will taste bitter if eaten, so it won’t hurt anyone if baby decides to put some in his mouth. Courtney thought it was a perfect gift, and I had yet another success with a homemade gift!

I have a few yummy things that I made, but I will post about them later. One of them is a sweet that we have all grown up loving! If you want to know more, Stay tuned……

Leave a Reply

