Girlie Birthdays and Cotton Candy

Happy 5th Birthday, Goldilocks!!!

A little Delayed, But you know how birthdays are 🙂

image2 (1)

I can’t believe that my Baby is 5 years old! Where does time go? You know those “On this Day” memories that come up on Facebook? Mine has been loaded these last few days with pictures of Goldilocks from birth on through. It is amazing how much they change in the early years. My sisters also posted these cute little picture collages on my wall of pictures they have of her and with her… It all made me a bit teary eyed….

Anyway… before I get weepy…

Since she is definitely old enough to have an opinion about her cake I asked her what flavor she would like to have. We went through all the usual choices, Chocolate, Vanilla, Strawberry…. all flavors that we have had recently. So, I decided to be crazy. I opened up my Pinterest account, went to my cake board, and let her see all of the delicious confections I have pinned there. I have made a lot of what is there at some time or another but there were some new ones there too. She had fun swiping through them on my phone with me and found what she wanted. The cake she chose has to be the GIRLIEST cake I have every laid eyes on. This cake is Pink, Fluffy, has sprinkles… What more could a little girl ask for?

The original recipe and idea can be found here. While I loved the idea, I don’t care for White cake or almond extract and had decided when I pinned the recipe initially that I wouldn’t use the cake noted.

image1 (3)

I used my go to cake, a soft, light, moist Butter cake recipe. I added a little extra vanilla and half a cup of sprinkles and Voila! Confetti Cake!

I was really happy with the way the cake itself turned out. Light, fluffy and moist with wonderful pops of color from the sprinkle all through the cake.

Next up was the frosting. This frosting isn’t Buttercream. It is what is commonly known as Cloud Frosting. It’s a mixture of egg whites, sugar, a little light corn syrup, flavoring and, in this case, a little color. The first three ingredients are cooked to 160 degrees. This cooks the egg whites and kills any bacteria and also melts the sugars to a syrup. Then you whip that stuff like crazy!! it turns into this gorgeous fluffy, marshmallow-y meringue type frosting. It is sticky at first, but easy to spread and tastes delicious.

This is the frosting about halfway through the whipping process when I added in the pink color and the flavoring.

image3

Now the recipe in the tagged blog uses actual cotton candy Flossing sugar. I wanted so badly to try it with that and looked for a full day all over town trying to find it. I looked online to see if there were any stores that carried it in my area…. and of course… there was not. I didn’t have time to order it in so i decided to improvise. I made the basic Cloud frosting and added both Strawberry and vanilla flavor to it as it was whipping to get that nice glossy pink and the delicious flavor of pink cotton candy (which, if you didn’t know, is a mix of strawberry and vanilla). I think it came out perfect. I loved it!! and Even better, Goldilocks loved it too!! It is definitely a pretty cake.

image2

Here it is, in all its pink frosted glory. And yes the frosting is supposed to be rustic…to give the feeling of a cone of cotton candy. If you have a sweet tooth, this cake will satisfy.

image1 (6)

One last Picture, for those of you who like to see the slice! Full of Sprinkles and as my sister so eloquently put it “Holy Frosting!”

Just delicious 🙂

 

I will be posting the recipe I used on a separate post. Enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

