Springtime and Easter Dinner

Flowers and Delicious Food!

Easter food and pretty Flowers

Happy Easter!! I know its a little late but you know how holidays are!

I have to say, I think that I have cooking full meals for holidays on my own down to a science. I think the prep work for this meal took me a little under 2 hours! After that its just a whole lot of baking and waiting….roasted turkey

Now, in my house, we have 2 proteins for these types of meals and a variety of sides. The only thing I forgot this year was a side of bread (Gasp!). I had been planning to make pretzel rolls.

This Turkey was so tender!! I have been making my turkey the same way the last few times and i haven”t had any issues with it being dry at all! I take a spoon and slide it between the meat and the skin, and put a compound butter in the space created.

Compound Butter:

1 stick of butter

2 tbsp of minced garlic (fresh)

1 tsp Rosemary, dried (or 1 tbsp fresh)

1/2 tsp thyme, dried (or about 2 tsp fresh)

a little salt an fresh ground pepper

a splash of white wine

Put all ingredients in a food processor (I use a Ninja) and pulse until everything is well blended.

I take this mixture and shove it under the skin and massage it into the meat anywhere I can get it.  I then spinkle salt and fresh ground pepper directly on the skin and rub it in.  I take the remainder of the compound butter and rub it all over the outside of the turkey. THis helps with that nice, golden colored, crispy flavorful skin that we all strive to achieve.

Next I quarter up a sweet onion and 2 medium apples ( I use Gala or Granny Smith). I put as many of the pieces as will fit in the cavity of the turkey and place whatever is left in the pan on the outside. Last, But most certainly not least, I pour white wine into the cavity. Do this gently and pour slowly! Only tilt the bottom of the turkey up enough to pour in the wine. If you stand it straight up the wine will go straight through! LOL. You should only use about half a decent sized bottle.

I baked my turkey at 325 for about 3 hours…He was under 10 lbs so that was about what was needed. The last 30-45 minutes I had to place a piece of aluminum foil over the turkey to keep the skin from browning to much. as you can see in the above picture, it was nearly fall apart tender! So delicious and fragrant…my tummy is grumbling thinking about it…. maybe I will have some for lunch….

baked ham

I also made a small ham for some variety. I generally buy the precooked, presliced ones that only need reheating. I make a glaze of brown sugar, cinnamon pineapple chunks and a splash of pineapple juice all blended together and poured over the ham before heating…It is delicious, and the quantities of ingredients is completely to your taste.

deviled eggs

I don’t know about you, but deviled eggs are a staple for Easter in my house!

greenbeans

Fresh green beans, steamed and tossed in melted butter, salt and pepper.

sweet potatoes

Sweet potato mash with a candied pecan topping, baked to a crisp finish. The perfect pairing for the baked ham.

potatoes au gratin

And the final side, Potatoes au Gratin. This dish is so good… You could eat it by itself. It is also very rich, so only a little is needed

This Dinner was a success and I definitely enjoyed making it. The only thing missing was the remainder of my family… We weren’t able to make it down to Florida this time but there is always next year!!

As far as the flowers up here go though! Mother Nature was definitely celebrating Easter as well. She pulled out all of her finery for sure! there are so many flowering trees and, well, just flowers everywhere! there are tiny white and purple flowers on the ground, along with wild growing daffodils..

tulip

This beauty is a red tulip that just sprouted up along my fence line….it is all alone there, but so vibrant and beautiful!

appleblossom

These Flowering trees are all along the canal path and trail that I walk with Goldilocks almost every day. I am not certain what they are but they may be Crab apple trees… the flowers and leaves look about right.

TULIPTREE

This tree is on the corner near my house.. It is absolutely gorgeous. I have no clue what it is, but the flowers look like tulips and the petals are a faint pink with a darker pink near the center. Just beautiful! and very fragrant.

Well, that is all for now. If you have any questions or want other recipes from our dinner I would be happy to share, Just leave a comment!

Thanks for reading!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Springtime and Easter Dinner

Leave a Reply

