Puppies and Pineapple Upside- Down Cake

harley5weeks3

Isn’t that the absolute sweetest picture! That is my sweet little Harley. She is (in three more excruciatingly LONG weeks!) the newest member of my little family. My sweet friend in Kentucky (@southernpridebostonsterriers) is the breeder and her dogs are gorgeous. At just a little over 3 and a half pounds, my little girl is the smallest of the litter but from the pictures and videos I have been sent she is developing a sweet little personality and from what I am told and some of the pictures and videos I have seen she is going to be a snuggler. Anyway, I just wanted to share my happy news, and i just cant wait to get her home! Oh… and here are a few more cute pics:

Now I want to tell you about this cake. It is moist, a little on the dense side and sweet with a little tang to it. Are you ready?

pineappleupsidedownbundt

Pineapple Upside down Bundt cake! Yep, I said Bundt. It is so delicious! Now, I do not care for Maraschino Cherries, but if you do, you can totally add them in. I don’t so  I didn’t, LOL.

Anyhow, I had made the decision that I wanted to make this cake, so I did what I normally do and went to Pinterest to find a recipe. While there are lots of pinned recipes, which I discovered very quickly were pins and re-pins of the same 3 or 4 blog posts/ recipes, I couldn’t find a single recipe that didn’t start with a BOX CAKE MIX! Sacrilege! I only use box cake mix for one thing, and it ISN’T cake! But that is another recipe for another blog.

Because I couldn’t find what I wanted, I decided I would have to create my own. Since all of the recipes call for a yellow cake mix, I knew to get the flavor I needed I would need to use my go to Butter cake recipe for a base. I also knew I would need to change up a few things. I did get the idea for using a bundt pan  instead of a regular cake pan from a pin. I thought it was a stellar idea. I liked the neatness of the pineapple in the pan…the OCD in my brain was very happy ;).

As you can see in the picture with the slices in the pan I also added little chunks of pineapple where some of you might like to put the cherries. But do you see how neat and lined up they are? It’s so PRETTY!  In this recipe you are using a 20 oz. can of pineapple slices and cutting them in half. You are also using all the juice that is in that can, so you need to drain it into a measuring cup for later. I drained the juice into a measuring cup and dumped the slices in a stack into another bowl then used a large knife to slice them in half. Once you have placed them into the cake pan, there will probably be more juice in the bowl. Pour that into the measuring cup too. the total amount of liquid you will have in the cup is 1 and 1/4 cup. This will be a combination of juice and milk. I also add the extracts I use to this measuring cup as well, just to streamline the mixing process. Ready for the recipe? Here we go!

Pineapple Upside-Down Bundt Cake

1 cup (2 sticks) of butter, softened

1 1/2 cups of sugar

3 large eggs

1/4  cup REGULAR Mayonnaise (you can also use a 4th egg, I use mayo for the added moisture)

3 cups cake flour (you can also use All Purpose flour, but the cake will not be as tender)

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp rum extract

3/4 to 1 cup pineapple juice (all the juice in the can)

1/4 to 1/2 cup of milk (remember the total liquid needs to be 1 1/4 cup total between the juice and milk)

20 oz can sliced pineapple

Maraschino cherries if desired

Preheat your oven to 350F. Prepare bundt pan by greasing and flouring making sure the pan is coated completely. Line the pan with the slices of pineapple (cut these in half). Also if you are using the cherries add them in between the slices. Set pan aside.

Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt, set aside. Cream butter till fluffy, if using mayo add in at this stage. Add sugar, cream together until fluffy. Remember to scrape down the sides of the bowl if you are using a stand mixer, to ensure even mixing. Add the eggs one at a time and mix in thoroughly. Add the milk  and extracts to the juice in the measuring cup and give a quick stir. Alternating dry and wet, add the flour mix and the juice mix to the bowl in 5 additions, making sure that the batter is mixed completely for the next addition. I use a rubber spatula to scrape down the bowl all the way to the bottom of the bowl to ensure complete mixing. Pour into the cake pan and smooth the top. Bake in 350F oven for 35-40 minutes or until tester come out with moist crumbs. Allow cake to cool in pan for 10 minutes before flipping cake onto a cooling rack and removing from pan. The cake will release from pan on its own if you allow the 10 minutes, Trust me! Serve warm or cool. You can also make a glaze of pineapple juice and powdered sugar for a more pineapple punch.

cakeslice

This cake is so good! It is tender and moist and you need to go make it right now! You will thank me!  Your taste buds will thank you! LOL. I had a lot of fun creating this cake. I hope you enjoy it too!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Puppies and Pineapple Upside- Down Cake

Leave a Reply

